Dream Act and Repeat

Inspiration, self-expression, determination, positive influence, self-awareness…

these are a few reasons why I started blogging. Imagine a world where you say what you want, you set the rules, the tone is your personality and you become your own boss. Blogging is freedom. I discovered sharing stories, giving advice, providing helpful tips are all unselfish ways of saying, “I care about your success”. My ultimate goal is to inspire and motivate others in positive ways. Blogging is a great method. 

Okay, let’s rewind a bit…

I graduated from college in 2014 with a Public Relations degree and a dream to enter into Fashion PR. I began the job hunt and until this day, I still haven’t found the perfect opportunity to start my career. I’m faithful that I’ll be led in the right direction and that door will open widely for me but only when the time is right.

A little history…not a lot…just a little…

With a desire to stick my stilettos into the land of fashion, I went on a search for fashion internships and came across one where I could work from home. The job required a Polyvore profile so I signed up on the website. Months passed and I didn’t land the job opportunity but I was entering the fashion industry through Polyvore! Three years ago I joined the community but I didn’t take Polyvore serious until 2015.

In 2016, I won countless amounts of prizes/clothes/accessories, cash incentives and the biggest one of all: the recognition among fashion companies. Yes! Companies were asking me to help promote campaigns and style pieces of clothes for them on Polyvore. To this day I still design sets. My profile has over 830k views, 56k followers and 36 trophies. I even created a second account, which is connected to this blog. Even with the success I continue to experience with Polyvore today, I believe there is more for me to accomplish.

My heart still itched for something…

I had no idea what. One day on Twitter Niume reached out and asked me if I liked writing or blogging. I said, “Sure” truth was I enjoyed playing with words to tell a story, but I wasn’t blogging or writing online. With not much to do during the day, I signed up. Posted a couple of poems with a recipe and my profile was gaining subscribers. I thought, “Hold up, surely people are not subscribing to be nice, hmmm…maybe I should look into blogging.

I’m a firm believer, everything happens for a reason…

So I analyzed the situation: I always had a knack for words, I enjoy song lyrics, writing poetry and telling descriptive stories, Fashion jobs are not hiring right now. I am able to embrace my passion for fashion and share my skin/haircare journey on a platform with no rules. I search Google and YouTube to learn tons of information, studied SEO and photography tips, learned about various opportunities but the one thing that stuck with me was passion and inspiration. I want to blog for a purpose. Share my story. Share others’ stories. Be a path that leaves a light and create new beginnings for others.

I realized blogging is closely related to public relations… 

which is great because I can put my degree to use. I truly enjoy sharing inspirational advice along with fashion/beauty tips. I want to motivate and encourage others to sew their potential. My mother always allowed me to express myself whether it was through fashion, hairstyles, cooking or traveling out to unique places. It’s so good to have a support system, I want to enhance the great qualities about you and help you navigate away from negative vibes.

It’s liberating to get lost into a fantasy because it’s never ending…

I like reading blogs, I feel more educated, empowered & opened to different perspectives. It’s truly nice to learn about what’s on the other side of the world! Discovering the blogging community has helped increased my confidence in writing. Bloggers don’t really focus on how professional your posts sound, it’s all about relating. I like that. In the beginning I had a hard time letting go of the formal strict writing that was professional but also robotic. I learned blogging is lose and relaxed.

Blogging makes me feel…

  • expressive
  • free
  • creative
  • innovative
  • self-aware
  • social
  • more in depth with thinking

I am understanding myself better by learning my strengths and increasing my potential to do something great for the world. 

What are your top 3 reasons for why you started blogging and how does it make you feel? Leave a comment!

14 thoughts on “Dream Act and Repeat

  1. Oyinlolaao says:

    Hey! New subbie here, and I’m already looking for more from you. My top 3 reasons for blogging are: I wanted to create a positive platform considering the increased negativity around recently, blogging serves as a personal journal for myself, and lastly to let people know that they are not alone in whatever situation they are going through.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Lupe says:

    My top 3: I love fashion from the moment I knew that I could put outfits together. It lets me focus on my passion, writing to share how style is my form of being in tune with my artistic side. Wanted to meet like minded people that share the love of style I have and navigate through the fashion world. Definitly gonna go and stalk all your social medias to see your awesome style x

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Zoe Jackson says:

    I love this post and so happy that you found blogging. I started blogging for the freedom to write what I want and that alone has given me the confidence in my writing aswell as everyday things. Thank you for sharing your story with us 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. namelessjeff says:

    I started blogging because I needed something to do whilst thinking about what to do with my future. Now, after a year of blogging, I still enjoy doing it. My blog is also my space to share things I’m passionate about. I really love photography and music a lot. It’s also my space to share my thoughts, opinions, experiences…

    Jeff. | NAMELESSJEFF

    Liked by 2 people

  5. buddingregardless says:

    This is so beautiful… I had always been an ungrateful soul who is always complaining and thinking about negative things. I started blogging because it changed my mindset, the content I write completely contradicts my negative thinking, People started following my blog, sharing my content on social media and telling me how much I motivate them. This has pushed me so much to be great. Nonetheless, Another reason why I started blogging because I ABSOLUTELY LOVE BLOGGING! And I love bloggers! And I love people who love reading! I find peace of mind when I am blogging, reading people’s blog and socializing with bloggers because none of my friends understand my life

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

