personal-growth-simply-untamed-natonya

Let It Go and You Will Grow

What is one thing we all have in common? I know I know several right? How about a past? I am not just talking about a squeaky clean past but one full of mistakes. Any ever struggle getting over those downfalls? Well I want to be the one to share my take of getting through those rough times.

MY LITTLE STORY…

When I started out in college, I thought I had it made. Coming from high school, making straight A’s and graduating in the top 13% of my class while being on the drill team, marching band, student empowerment team and student council. I told myself, “I can do college, I got this”. Totally underestimated the reality of transitioning from high school to a university.

When I arrived at my university as a freshman, I was exposed to the “you’re on your own” environment. Not to mention it was super hard to make friends everyone was lounging in their own bubble. I failed the first year. I was unmotivated, exhausted and curious. I needed to know what I did wrong and why I wasn’t making the grades I did in high school.

I discovered I needed to find my own way. I had to go through the failure so I could taste the sweetness of success. It’s those rough times when we began to discover our strength and will power. We learn whether we want to sink or float. I wanted to fly. I knew I had to change my habits but more importantly renew my mind. These changes paved the way for me graduating my university with straights A’s. Here is how I learned to grow:

ACCEPT

Moving forward from your past means accepting your past. Sometimes we experience situations leaving us saying, “why did this happen?” or “I don’t know how to get over this?”. I am a firm believer in everything happening for a reason. When we experience hardships, we’re actually expanding ourselves. We have to reach beneath the surface and discover the ultimate meaning behind those difficulties. Challenges bring out the best in us and we learn about our inner strength. Life is more about the way we respond through our journey than where we land. I observed from situations it is way easier to accept your past. Forgive and let go.

REJECT

Ignore those negative thoughts delivering messages of defeat and non-constructive criticism. You cannot move forward if you’re thinking backwards. I find comfort in knowing I am not my circumstance, I have potential for greater success. In other words, I like to look past where I am and know where I am going. Just because things don’t look as great, they can get better. For example, if you failed a midterm it doesn’t mean you failed the course. Stay motivated and curious. Utilize your resources for your benefit. Plenty of people surround your life, it’s up to you to allow them in your bubble and replenish yourself with their help.

EMBRACE

Appreciate where you are and know you are not your circumstance, your current situation does not represent you. Understand if you are not in the position you want, it does not mean that it’s where you will be forever. Be grateful for where you stand and there is good in every situation. Allow your heart to rejoice in trying times because those moments matter for your personal growth. Expressing happiness in the dark makes your life brighter. Part of a healthy lifestyle is to embark down the trail of failure with a smile on your face. If you continue to sulk, the big opportunities designated for you disappear.

PREPARE

Moving forward means not looking backwards. You set yourself up for failure when you relive past situations and old emotions. Allow those nasty feelings to flee from your body so your heart is able to soften. Let your mind welcome healthy and optimistic thoughts. Never speak of yourself negatively. Stand in front of a mirror, point at yourself and say, “I am strong. I am smart. I am loved. I am whole. I am beautiful. I am going to make it.” Saying positive phrases aloud is a chance to release doubtful vibes and increase confidence. Acknowledge and accept mistakes from your past. Treat challenges and hardships as preparation for a better future.

Your journey is the best of the story to tell. Knowing how to heal your battle wombs is powerful. I hope this brings some light into a dark room that had you trapped. When hard situations present themselves as impossible, just know it truly gets better. Believe me, it does. Remember to make peace with the past so your eyes are open for the best opportunities. Be strong and of a good courage.

personal-growth-pin-simply-untamed-natonya

PIN ME!

What is your favorite fruit 🙂 I like mango and avocado!

15 thoughts on “Let It Go and You Will Grow

  1. Chanel Medford says:

    wow, very inspiring. Thank you for sharing your wisdom with us. I hope people can take what you said and apply it to their lives. Love ya! Oh yeah, my favorite fruit is apples and honeybell oranges and any flavored sweet tea is my favorite drink.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Caterina Sosso says:

    I believe in “everything happening for a reason” too. When I was in high school I heard the famous Steve Jobs speech where he said “You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future.” and it was life changing!! Really nice post, thank you for giving us readers a little bit more of motivation x

    Caterina | http://www.caterinasosso.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. captaineverland says:

    This is a really great post. Well done! And I can’t agree more with everything you’ve written up. Everything happened/happening for a reason, but we also have to keep on fighting and stay positive all the way through. When I went through bad moments, I’d told myself that I have to be strong. Sometimes, you are the only saviour you have. x Ain

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

