How To Deal With Rejection

I wholeheartedly believe life wasn’t designed for us to suffer. Yes, we are meant to experience hardships and learn complicated lessons but for our own good. We are to enjoy life and not allow our circumstances to become our totality. We are bigger than our issues.

MY PROBLEM

For the past two years, I’ve been on a job hunt. I want to break into the fashion industry, whether it’s through public relations, styling or writing. Finding a job is tough let alone working for a high-end brand or magazine. I was discouraged whenever I applied for a job and was turned down. Honestly, it took a while to learn how to rebuild strength in applying to another one.

After graduating from my university, I was so anxious and excited to work. I’d applied to numerous companies, but was rejected by 25+ jobs in less than one year. My heart sank from email after email stating, “we appreciate your interest but we are going to consider other candidates”. Rejection is a self-esteem manipulator if you take it the wrong way. I took rejection as it meant something was wrong with me.

MY REVELATION

One day I prayed and discovered rejection means another route. I back tracked all those jobs I applied and realized the jobs were not fashion or public relations related. Being so anxious to have a job, I was applying for any job. So, I was upset for no reason. Rejection was the best thing because it led me to blogging and other creative outlets to push me more towards the fashion industry. If I was hired by one of those companies, would I have been happy? Probably not because it wasn’t meant for me.

I was too focused on what others were doing. The fact that some of my peers landed jobs quickly, influenced negative thinking, which made me I needed to find a job quick. Everyone’s journey is different and we all travel at various paces.

SOLUTION

I know understand the power of faith and believing everything will work out in your favor. Journeys are designed to bring out the best in you. If everything came easy, we would never know what hard work means and couldn’t fully appreciate how sweet success tastes.

TIPS

Optimism

-When situations don’t work out, remain positive because there is something better

Laugh

-Enjoy the journey and stay away from stress

Don’t Compare

-Never compare your situation to someone else’s, we are all different for a reason

Be Fearless

-Try new things and don’t be afraid of the word “NO”

Let Go of the Past

-Keep it moving so you can embrace potential opportunities, check out my post all about it

How do you overcome rejection? Share your tips so we all can learn 😊

 

FOLLOW ME

Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Polyvore

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. This article is what I needed to read! Great tips. It’s so hard to deal with any kind of rejection for me as I’m just very sensitive but I’ve learned to overcome that with years and some of the tips you’ve mentioned.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really glad this post registered with you! It’s so nice to know you’re not alone 🙂

      Like

  2. Great advice & tips. Really helpful. X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you found this post useful 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Being optimistic and positive is definitely key, it’s what helped me get my first job offers!

    Ashleigh | http://ashleighwrites.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a good post. I’ve been through a similar experience recently, but have come to realise that that rejection happened for a reason. It’s so hard to stay positive in the face of disappointment, but we simply have to carry on. You’re definitely not the only one who experiences this, and I love that you’ve written about it! Everything happens for a reason, in my mind, and so we always have something to learn. You’re definitely not alone in this experience. x

    whatevawears.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Eva! I really appreciate all you said and you’re right, everything happens for a reason b/c there is a lesson in it 🙂

      Like

  5. whatismaria says:

    I too struggle a lot with facing rejection. After finishing college, I decided to take a gap year at the last minute because I was no longer happy with my uni course and wanted to reapply to the one I truly love and frantically started hunting for temporary jobs. I received quite a few rejections and was upset because I thought rejection = something wrong with me but ultimately a temporary job isn’t my career lol and I wholeheartedly believe that this is the universe leading me to a much more exciting opportunity. Thank you so much for sharing this post! Loved reading about your journey 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Maria. I’m so glad you related to my experience, it feels nice to know I’m not the only one 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. oh, and thanks for sharing this with us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, glad you like the post 😀

      Like

  7. very inspiring! love u!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Letting go of the past is the absolute key to getting over rejection! My advice is screw ’em, there is something or someone out there better for you anyway. Rejection is the universe’s way of setting you up for something better!

    Char xo || http://www.memoirsmusings.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oooo *snap snap snap* Let em know Char!! Glad you like the post 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Jade J says:

    I’ve learnt to always stay positive through the phase of rejection things always work out for the best. Great post xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jade! Yes, positive attitude equals positive results 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Emeka Ofili says:

    I have faced several rejection too but I continue to look forward with hope maybe it’s not my turn cos everyone got his own time. I listen 👂 a lot to inspirational talks like this one and read 📖 my Bible to keep me going. That’s how I keep hope alive. I think I like this ending part of your piece – “If everything came easy, we would never know what hard work means and couldn’t fully appreciate how sweet success taste. “

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Emeka! I agree with you too, The Bible is my inspiration for everything I do, keeps me stable and hopeful.

      Like

      1. Emeka Ofili says:

        Good to hear this.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

