Autumn Bites: What’s In Season?

Nothing like the perfect autumn day, curling up in your fleece blanket with a slice of warm apple pie and your favorite book. If you’re like me, you value the company of rustic bread with a creamy butternut squash soup paired together like a tweed cardigan and velvet booties. Not only is fashion a blissful journey to explore during autumn with the layering of sweaters and moto jackets but we get to taste warm savory dishes that enrich our food palette the way fashion week changes our closets.
So, it’s autumn season and it’s time to enjoy sweet potato pie, pumpkin-spiced everything, steamy stews, hot chocolate and roasted meats with veggies. Below I compiled a list of fruits and vegetables for the autumn season.

VEGGIES 

Broccoli
Cabage
Peppers
Onions
Sweet potatoes 
Collards
Swiss chard
Fennel
Chilies
Endive
Kale
Radishes
Mustard Greens
Arugula
Radicchio
Mushrooms
Pak Choi
Carrots
Butter Squash
Brussels sprouts
Cauliflower

ROOT VEGETABLES 

Jicama
Potatoes
Beets
Celery Root
Parsnips
Rutabaga
Turnips


FRUITS 

Huckleberries
Cherries
Cranberries
Pumpkin
Jujubes (Red Dates or Chinese Apple)
Guava
Blood oranges
Clementines
Pears
Pomegranates
Grapes
Pineapples
Passion Fruit
Apples

What fruits and vegetables do you plan on using in your fall recipes? Comment below so we all can try the unique dishes!

All Photos from Unsplash
Follow Me
23 Comments Add yours

  1. Zara says:

    Anything with carrots, turnip or parsnips is an autumnal winner for me! x
    http://www.misszarabelle.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree Zara, those veggies make the season feel even warmer inside 🙂

      Like

  2. pinkiebag says:

    HI, I love autumnal foods especially the vegetables. You csnt beat a homemade soup with fresh bread.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s the best right! This time of the year is the best time to have soup and crusty bread by a window or fireplace and of course with your favorite blanket 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Viktoria@TheLifestyleFiles says:

    Love this list – I’m all about seasonal shopping. It’s the best way to ensure you get fresh produce in the best quality. My faves are squash, apples, grapes, beetroot, and sweet potato!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Viktoria those are all my favorite eats too! So true buy food during it’s peak season guarantees fresh meals 🙂 Glad you like the post!

      Like

  4. sunshinesarahxo says:

    Autumn nights make me crave soup so bad!!! Love all the root vegetables around at this time of year – roasted, in soups, mashed….love it all!!
    Your photos here are insane!!! Absolutely incredible! 😱😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like the post!! Roasted veggies in soups is so heavenly 🙂 Photos are not mine, credited to Unsplash 🙂

      Like

  5. lipsticklattesblogca says:

    This is truly so helpful! I tend to have a few meals on a rotation that I use constantly and I am wanting to switch things up. You’ve got me in the mood to search for some new recipes to try and I have saved this post to come back to. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cool, I too want to switch things up, which is why I did some research of seasonal veggies and fruits! So glad you found this helpful! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

  6. I honestly don’t pay any attention to what foods are in Season and when – I just LOVE food and I really want to ensure I eat more veggies and hearty, healthier food this Autumn / Winter! I’m a huge sweet potato fan 💚 Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sweet potatoes the best! I like food too, I think I will write more food posts 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I just want SWEET POTATO PIE!!!!!!! Give me give me!!!! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HMMMM… Sweet potato pie sounds scrumptious right now! 😀 Thanks for commenting Chanel ❤

      Like

  8. Olyvia says:

    This is really cool! We need reminders of seasonal foods in this instant access world lol. Thanks for taking the time to share. You can tell a lot went into this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Olyvia! I appreciate you appreciating this post 🙂

      Like

  9. Mo says:

    Ahhhh, I absolutely love Autumn food too, theres nothing like stodgy comforting meals on cold dark nights. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally! Warm meals are so comforting 🙂

      Like

  10. girlingamba says:

    So whenever I go shopping, I always wish I knew what is in season! I definitely do love fruits and veggies that aren’t in season, but it’s surely better for my wallet if I went with ones that were. Thank you for this list!

    -GG
    http://www.girlingamba.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks GG! So glad you enjoyed the list 🙂

      Like

  11. A Cup of Wonderland says:

    Really interesting seeing what’s in season, means I know what will be better to buy when shopping. I love sweet potatos and all the fruits on your list! Also I agree nothing better than cosy cardigan or blanket and a good book! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You said it! I 100% agree with you! Glad you enjoy the post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

