Getting In Front of The Camera…Again

Confession

Simply Untamed Natonya is about being comfortable in your own skin and allowing inner beauty to become the best thing you wear. All my posts focus on inspiring people to embrace themselves without a care. When it comes to the media and fashion/beauty industry, we are sometimes manipulated to how we identify the outer appearance. My goal is to help re-condition how we see ourselves.

I must confess, I struggle with getting in front of the camera. I find it as this vulnerable place where all your insecurities are unleashed. As I am learning more about myself, I realized being vulnerable isn’t so bad but neither is feeling raw, open and free.

Early July, I finally found the confidence and asked my sister to take a full body photo of me. She was in a rush, so I had to quickly take the pictures. Pressure is a good thing right? It forces you to get stuff done. Immediately, I felt this tightness in my stomach and negative thoughts tried to run through my mind. Before the self-criticism could enter, I told myself: “You Got This. Breathe. All you need is one photo.” I hadn’t really practice my angles but I knew I didn’t want to look at the camera. So I turned to the side, grabbed my mini backpack and exhaled.

The Experience

It has been years since I requested someone to snap a picture of me. I realized my dream of being in the fashion industry will require a high amount of confidence and the thickest skin. Since I’m investing more time into inspirational fashion writing, I don’t want to be someone who promotes content they rarely do. I knew I had to get in front of the camera to be relatable and cohesive with my words.

I told myself don’t be afraid to dress up a little bit. I did my  make-up, which was minimal and consisted of: one application of Maybelline Great Lash mascara, no foundation, NYX Lip Pencil (Plum) and a thin layer of It Cosmetics Brow Power Universal. The hairstyle I wore was a Mohawk braid discovered through various hair beauties on YouTube. I made some changes to suit my texture and I did have some help with the addition of Kanekalon hair, which gave my braid a fuller look.

My outfit:

I’d chosen the rough fence against my floral cold-shoulder dress because I really like mixed textures. The play between the edgy fence and silk-like fabrics is dynamic and different for me. My style is a maximum blend of what I describe as a girly-grungy-sophisticated-edgy-glam look.

When my sister raised the camera to snap the photo, I grabbed my stomach and calmly spoke to myself. The quick photo session lasted 2 minutes. She took three pictures and I was done. I knew she was in a hurry and I didn’t need to let insecurities pour out or I wouldn’t have a picture for this post.

It’s just the beginning for me but here are six tips to getting in front of the camera:

1. Erase Perfection

Do whatever you want, it’s your photo, you set the rules. No right or wrong answer to your picture.

2. Have your camera ready

Set your camera and eliminate one step, all the person has to do is take the pictures. Test out the area with a couple sots.

3. Have a go-to angle or pose

When in doubt, have a go-to pose for those times your friends want to snap random pictures of you. Get inspired through Pinterest photos or print magazine spreads. Studying fashion spreads will help you learn different angles and what looks good for your body. Practice in front of a full-length mirror.

4. Get out of your head

Some of the best pictures come from unplanned thoughts. Let go and enjoy the moment. Negative energy tends to show on camera. Try to think of pleasant thoughts like roses or ice cream but not about the outcome of the photos.

5. Wear something comfortable

I felt really good in what was wearing, which made it easier to pose for the camera so I didn’t feel forced or out of place.

6. Don’t over criticize

Ashley Graham said in her book, A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty & Power Really Look Like

If you think you look good, others will too.

She exudes a healthy amount of confidence, check out how Ashley inspires me.

After taking my full body photo this past summer, I feel more encouraged to try other things that have been holding me back. I learned to let go of the past and not become too critical of myself.

What is a fear you conquered or would like to in the near future?

 

Follow Me

Twitter | Pinterest | Polyvore | Bloglovin’

31 Comments Add yours

  1. Samantha says:

    I loved this post, It’s so inspiring. I have to admit I don’t feel confident in front of the camera but you look beautiful and thank you for the tips.

    Samantha | https://believeinamiracle.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Samantha! I’m glad you liked this post. I know the camera can be intimidating right? But we just have to learn how to own our confidence and be ourselves. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done for the bravery. I know what it can be like in front of the camera. I was bullied severely for my looks in school so grew very shy, and have been rediscovering my own beauty just as you have. You look stunning in that photo, I can tell you radiate happiness with that gorgeous smile. I also love seeing a nice feminine photo. There’s too much posing and fakery on the likes of Instagram, where woman objectify themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment made me feel really good about myself. Thanks for sharing love and positive vibes. I’m so glad I published this post, I’ve had it since July and was too insecure to post it but I got over the fear and I’m so happy people like you find it inspiring. 🙂

      Like

  3. cloudyzoella says:

    This is so motivating, although I’m not that comfortable with camera. Love this post and have a lovely evening x littlewritingworld.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you like the post! Enjoy your day too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Creative Nails says:

    This post is so inspiring! I usually hate having my photo taken too, but I am trying to get better at that. I will remember your tips in the future!

    Amy,
    https://creativenails.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Amy! It makes my day to know this post resonates with you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello Bexa says:

    Great post, very thoughtful and inspirational 💕. Confidence is always an area I need to constantly work at. I agree, wearing something comfortable is so important and can change everything. You look lovely by the way, such a natural warm smile and pretty dress 😘 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I agree, confidence and comfort go together and changes your whole vibe. I’m so happy you liked my post 🙂

      Like

  6. Rebecca Rose says:

    Great post! Very empowering and your photo is beautiful! Cant wait to see more 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca, thank you so much! It makes me feel really good to be vulnerable and others find it inspiring 🙂

      Like

  7. I always wanted to post pictures of me but I’m not feeling that I can do it. But after reading this post I think I have to be myself and to appreciate how I look. I was thinking of posting my outfit from the wedding I attended, you inspired me so tomorrow will be up on the blog. We all need to believe in ourselves more. Thank you girl!💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rossye you don’t know how much your comment moved me; this is exactly why I write, to motivate and inspire others. I can’t wait to read the post about your outfit. You are so beautiful! I’m so excited! Glad you enjoyed this post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww so happy to hear that! You are just amazing so continue to be what you are, inspire and motivate others!!!🤗

        Liked by 1 person

  8. blonderiablog says:

    Thanks for this post. I feel extremely uncomfortable when somebody takes photos of me. Next time I’ll keep your tips in mind. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cool! I’m glad you found this post useful, makes me so happy 🙂

      Like

  9. monicawongblog says:

    What a great post! Confidence on camera is all about feeling good in your own skin! So glad you’re having a better experience with it and it’s showing in your images!
    Thewongblog.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Monica! I agree having confidence and feeling good in your skin is powerful and the foundation to taking the perfect photo. I’m so happy you liked this post, it really means a lot to me 🙂

      Like

  10. girlingamba says:

    I loved this post! Very inspiring! Also, I love the tips you give. I haven’t taken a solo picture in so long. Although I don’t mind taking pictures, I definitely loved selfies and solo pictures more in college. I’m not sure if I just don’t have the time anymore or if I truly don’t want or like to. As always, great post!

    -GG
    http://www.girlingamba.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks GG! I was definitely avoiding taking pictures because I was feeling insecure but now that I’ve done it, it’s not so bad 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the post!

      Like

  11. Such great advice! It is soooo easy to get in our heads and be crazy, crazy critical over taking a simple photo! You look awesome and I’m glad you conquered your fear! I’m trying to get over my fear of applying for blogging jobs. I have 9 years of experience on my own and want to get over the doubt that I’m not good enough! Thanks for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! WOW, 9 years of experience, you are an inspiration to me. I just started blogging in January and found it difficult in the beginning but if you been in this for 9 years, it says so much about your drive and will power. You got this, apply for those jobs because you certainly have the experience. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  12. A Cup of Wonderland says:

    I found this to be really motivating. I find it s hard to be in front of the camera, I prefer being behind. So it was really nice to see you writing about this. BTW I love your outfit and you look absolutely stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the compliment! I’m always behind the camera because it’s easier and more comfortable but I learned if I want to grow, I need to take on challenges. So glad you enjoyed this post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. kenishac6 says:

    This was such a great read for me. I sometimes talk myself out of taking pictures for some reason and it’s so silly, but you looked great girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kenisha! I’m trying to be more open and confident about who I am, taking pictures was step one. Posting pictures is step two lol. Glad you enjoy this post 🙂

      Like

  14. Corinne and Kirsty says:

    I am never super comfortable with being in front of the camera. Don’t know why. It got better with blogging but still. I criticize way too much and over think it ^^ xx corinne

    Like

    1. Corinne, I agree I criticize myself too but I must admit, my confidence has risen with blogging. Thanks for commenting 😀

      Like

  15. kittypann says:

    This is such a good and motivating post! I’m glad you conquered this and I think you look beautiful in the photo. For me, sharing some of my creative writing pieces publicly has been hard, but if I want to become a writer I need to squash this fear now.

    http://kittypann.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you much, you comment means a lot to me. I agree, sharing creative pieces is bitter sweet because you’re putting yourself out there but that’s the sweetest part, you get to be self-expressive and no one can take that way from you 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the post!

      Like

Leave a Reply

